Garavan launches Seanad Campaign

May 4, 2007 at 9:00 am | Posted in Statements | Leave a comment

With the dates for the Seanad election announced yesterday, I am delighted to formally launch my campaign for Seanad Eireann in the NUI constituency. 

I believe there are many in modern Ireland disturbed and disillusioned by the failure of our major political parties to create a society of decency and standards where all citizens can live their lives with respect and dignity. To achieve this we need independent voices with the courage to speak out and shape public debate and contest the orthodoxies of both left and right. I commit myself to being one such voice.

I am a genuinely independent voice. In examining proposed legislation I will ask:

  • whether bills are socially and ecologically sustainable
  • whether they improve the social position of those who are economically marginalised
  • whether they increase or erode civil liberties

I believe in a regulated free market where government acts to protect citizens from over-powerful private corporations. I believe in a vibrant parliamentary democracy where good ideas triumph over vested interests. I believe in ‘the open society’ where the socially deprived such as the homeless, the disabled and the ill are protected. I believe in an Ireland that provides a strong voice for international human rights and justice. Since announcing my candidacy in February I have received pledges of support for a great number of people. Among those who support my campaign are Kathy Sinnot MEP, Ms Lelia Doolin, Fr Peter McVerry, Dr Nollaig O Muirile, Joe Murray of AFRI, Richard Douthwaite of FEASTA, Davie Phillip of the CULTIVATE CENTRE, Donncha O’Connell and a number of independent TDs from the last Dail. I want to acknowledge and thank all of those and pledge myself to conduct a rigorous and positive campaign centred on the issues of importance.    

Dr Mark Garavan is a native of Castlebar, Co. Mayo. He is a sociologist lecturing in the Department of Nursing, GMIT, Castlebar. From 1988 he worked for a number of years with Dublin Simon Community. He has worked as a youth care worker in Carlow and Kerry. He was a researcher with the Environmental Change Institute in NUI, Galway from 2000 to 2003. He was spokesperson for the Rossport Five during their imprisonment in 2005.  He is married to Pauline and has two children.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

